Fourth International Conference on
Analytical Approaches to World Music (AAWM 2016)
June 8–11, 2016

Hosted by The New School, New York, USA


World music traditions are receiving increasing attention in all areas of music research, including ethnomusicology, music theory and analysis, music history, music psychology, and music information retrieval. Analytical Approaches to World Music 2016 is the fourth in a series of conferences that bring together scholars from diverse disciplines and cultures, in order to foster interdisciplinary and cross-cultural dialogue and promote new approaches and methods for the study of world music.


We welcome submissions that examine world musical traditions from any analytical and theoretical angles, including (but not limited to) ethnographic, historical, formal, computational, and cognitive perspectives. Submission formats include papers, posters, special sessions, and workshops


Please see below for information on conference organization and submission guidelines.


Conference web site:


Organizing Committee

Lawrence Shuster (SUNY Purchase, USA), Chair

John Roeder (University of British Columbia, Canada)

Michael Tenzer (University of British Columbia, Canada)

Brian Jarvis (The University of Texas at El Paso, USA)


Local Arrangements Committee

Chris Stover (The New School College of Performing Arts, USA), Chair

Evan Rapport (The New School Eugene Lang College, USA)

Lynne Rogers (The New School College of Performing Arts, USA)

Nancy Rao (Rutgers University, USA)


Keynote Speakers

Jay Rahn (York University, Canada)

Richard Widdess (School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, UK)


Program Co-Chairs

Panayotis Mavromatis (New York University, USA)

Chloe Alaghband-Zadeh (University of Cambridge, UK)


Submission Guidelines


Papers Proposals for spoken papers should include a short abstract of no more than 200 words, and a full proposal in extended abstract format with customary headings (Introduction, Analysis, Conclusions, etc.). The recommended length for the full proposal is 400-700 words, including footnotes but not counting examples and bibliography. Supporting media files can also be submitted. Accepted papers will be allotted 30 minutes for presentation plus 15 minutes for discussion.


Posters Poster proposals should follow the same format as spoken paper proposals.


Authors may submit a given proposal as a paper, a poster, or both. The program committee will make a final recommendation on the presentation format, taking the author’s request into consideration. Abstracts and full proposals of the accepted papers and posters will be published online.


Special Sessions Authors of papers that share a common theme may propose to deliver them in a special session. Each paper should be submitted separately, and will be reviewed following the same process as that for spoken papers. In addition, a separate submission should be entered for the session as a whole, including a 200-word abstract and a full proposal of 400-700 words.


Workshops / Alternative Formats Proposals for workshops or other alternative formats should also be submitted as a 200-word abstract and 400-700 word full proposal. The proposals should give as many details as possible about the precise format they will employ, how many participants can attend, and the size and type of space they will require.


Submission process


All proposals should be submitted electronically using the following link:


Initial submission deadline: December 5, 2015

Final submission deadline: December 20, 2015


Initial submissions should minimally consist of a title, short abstract (200 words), and a selection of topics/keywords. Once the initial submission has been saved, authors can go back and complete it until the final submission deadline.


Notification of acceptance will be sent via email by early February 2016.


Additional Information


For additional information regarding the conference, including venue, transportation, and accommodations, please check the conference website:


Updated information will be posted there as soon as it becomes available.


Please direct all remaining questions to


Program Committee

Simha Arom (Directeur de Recherche Emérite au CNRS, France)

Emmanouil Benetos (Queen Mary University of London, UK)

Filippo Bonini-Baraldi (Instituto de Etnomusicologia [INET-MD], Universidade Nova, Lisboa, Portugal)

Steven Brown (McMaster University, Canada)

Ya-Hui Cheng (University of South Florida, USA)

Martin Clayton (Durham University, UK)

Richard Cohn (Yale University, USA)

Darrell Conklin (University of the Basque Country, Spain)

Ruth Davis (Cambridge University, UK)

Byron Dueck (Open University, UK)

Susanne Fürniss (CNRS-Musée de l'Homme, Paris, France)

Daniel Goldberg (Yale University, USA)

Rachel Hall (St. Joseph’s University, USA)

Áine Heneghan (University of Michigan, USA)

Andre Holzapfel (Austrian Research Institute for Artificial Intelligence [OFAI], Austria)

Henry Johnson (University of Otago, New Zealand)

Kalin Kirilov (Towson University, USA)

Ellen Koskoff (Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester, USA)

Peter van Kranenburg (Meertens Institute, Netherlands)

Laura Leante (Durham University, UK)

Justin London (Carleton College, USA)

Shay Loya (City University London, UK)

Yonatan Malin (University of Colorado at Boulder, USA)

Peter Manuel (Graduate Center and John Jay College, City University of New York, USA)

Andrew McGraw (University of Richmond, USA)

Sue Miller (Leeds Beckett University, UK)

Simon Mills (Durham University, UK)

Sam Mirelman (Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, New York University, USA)

Robert Morris (Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester, USA)

Somangshu Mukherji (University of Michigan, USA)

Kerstin Neubarth (Canterbury Christ Church University, Canterbury, UK)

Laudan Nooshin (City University London, UK)

Jay Rahn (York University, Canada)

Nancy Rao (Rutgers University, USA)

Dana Rappoport (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, France)

Evan Rapport (The New School, USA)

John Roeder (University of British Columbia, Canada)

Martin Rohrmeier (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany)

Frank Scherbaum (University of Potsdam, Germany)

Martin Scherzinger (New York University, USA)

Rob Schultz (University of Kentucky, USA)

Edwin Seroussi (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel)

Lawrence Shuster (SUNY Purchase, USA)

Gabriel Solis (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)

Jonathan Stock (University College Cork, Ireland)

Chris Stover (The New School, USA)

Michael Tenzer (University of British Columbia, Canada)

Godfried Toussaint (McGill University, Canada and New York University, Abu Dhabi)

Costas Tsougras (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece)

Anja Volk (Utrecht University, Netherlands)

Chris Walshaw (University of Greenwich, UK)

Richard Widdess (School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, UK)